Maun

Is a 12-Day Mobile Camping Safari from Maun to Chobe National Park Worth It?

LT LikeTraveling Editorial Team · 4 min read

Quick answer

This 12-day mobile camping safari runs from Maun to Chobe National Park and is priced from 5,760 USD per person. It is a good fit for travelers who want a longer, camp-based Botswana trip with a small group and are comfortable with simple camping conditions. It is less suitable for anyone wanting lodge comfort, short trips, or a fully flexible daily pace.

If you are asking whether a 12-day mobile camping safari from Maun to Chobe National Park is worth it, the short answer is: it can be, if you want a long, camp-based Botswana journey and are happy with basic camping rather than lodge accommodation. The trip lasts 12 days, starts from Maun, ends in the Chobe National Park area, and is priced from 5,760 USD. It holds a 5-star rating from 8 reviews, which is encouraging but a small sample. This article explains what the trip is, who it suits, what it costs in context, and the practical limitations you should weigh before booking.

What this 12-day mobile camping safari actually is

This is a mobile camping safari, which in Botswana usually means you travel with a camp that is set up and taken down as you move, rather than staying in one fixed lodge. The verified listing describes a 12-day route from Maun to Chobe National Park. That is the core of what you are buying: a long overland-style safari with camping as the base.

Because the verified data does not list specific camps, stops, or daily activities, you should treat the exact itinerary as something to confirm with the operator before booking. What is clear is the shape of the trip: 12 days, Maun as the starting point, and Chobe National Park as the endpoint.

Who is this trip best for?

The 12-day length and mobile camping format point to a particular kind of traveler:

  • Travelers with time. Twelve days is a serious commitment, so it suits people who want to slow down and see more of northern Botswana rather than squeeze in a short highlight trip.
  • Campers and outdoor-oriented travelers. If you are comfortable with tents, simple facilities, and moving camp regularly, the format will feel natural.
  • Small-group travelers. Mobile camping safaris are usually run for small groups, though the exact group size is not stated in the verified data.
  • Budget-conscious safari-goers. Camping is generally a more affordable way to spend many days in Botswana than lodge-based travel, though this specific trip starts at 5,760 USD.

It is less suited to travelers who want hotel-style comfort, who have limited mobility, or who prefer a fixed base with no packing and unpacking.

How much does it cost, and what does that mean?

The listed price is from 5,760 USD. That is a starting figure, not a final one, and it is worth understanding what it does and does not tell you.

ItemWhat the verified data says
Starting priceFrom 5,760 USD
Duration12 days
Rating5 out of 5
Reviews8

At roughly 480 USD per day if you divide the starting price by 12, this sits in the mid-to-upper range for a camping safari. That is a rough calculation, not a quoted per-day rate, and the final price will depend on season, group size, and what is included. Because the verified data does not list inclusions or exclusions, you should ask the operator directly about park fees, meals, transfers, and equipment before you compare it with other trips.

How reliable is the 5-star rating?

The trip shows a 5-star rating from 8 reviews. That is a positive signal, but it is a small number of reviews, so it should be read as encouraging rather than conclusive. A handful of very happy travelers can produce a perfect score without telling you much about consistency over time.

A practical approach is to read the reviews themselves rather than only the score, and to look for comments about the things that matter on a 12-day camping trip: camp comfort, food, guide knowledge, vehicle comfort, and how well the group was managed. The verified data does not include review text, so this is something to check on the booking page.

12 Days Mobile Camping Safari-From Maun to Chobe National Park

★ 5.0 from 8 reviews

Check availability on Viator

The route: from Maun to Chobe National Park

The trip begins in Maun, the gateway town for the Okavango Delta, and finishes at Chobe National Park, which is known for its elephant populations and riverfront scenery. Those two anchors make geographic sense for a northern Botswana safari.

What the verified data does not tell us is which places you visit in between, how many nights are spent where, or whether the Okavango Delta or other reserves are included. If those details matter to you, ask the operator for a day-by-day outline before you book. A 12-day route has room for several distinct areas, but you should not assume any particular stop is included.

Practical limitations to weigh before booking

Mobile camping is rewarding but it is not for everyone. Keep these limitations in mind:

  • Camping comfort is basic. Expect tents and simple facilities rather than lodge rooms. The verified data does not describe the camp setup, so confirm the details.
  • You will move regularly. Packing and unpacking is part of the rhythm of a mobile safari.
  • Twelve days is a long time. Weather, insects, and fatigue affect everyone differently over that length of trip.
  • Inclusions are unclear. Park fees, meals, drinks, and transfers are not specified in the verified data, so ask before you compare prices.
  • Group dynamics matter. Small-group camping trips depend heavily on the mix of travelers and the guide.

None of these are reasons to avoid the trip, but they are reasons to go in with clear expectations.

How to decide if it is worth it for you

A simple way to decide is to match the trip to your priorities:

  1. If you want a long, camp-based Botswana adventure and are comfortable with simple conditions, this trip fits that brief.
  2. If you want lodge comfort or a short trip, a 12-day mobile camping safari is probably not the right match.
  3. If price is a concern, compare the 5,760 USD starting figure with what is actually included, since a cheaper-looking trip with fewer inclusions may not be better value.
  4. If you need certainty about the route, request the full itinerary before booking, because the verified data does not list the stops.

In short, the trip is worth considering if the format and length suit you, and worth skipping if they do not.

A 12-day mobile camping safari from Maun to Chobe National Park is a substantial, camp-based way to see northern Botswana. It suits travelers who have the time, enjoy camping, and want a longer overland-style trip. The 5,760 USD starting price and the 5-star rating from 8 reviews are useful starting points, but the small review count and the missing itinerary and inclusion details mean you should ask questions before booking. If the format fits you, it is a reasonable option to consider; if you want lodge comfort or a shorter trip, look elsewhere.

12 Days Mobile Camping Safari-From Maun to Chobe National Park

★ 5.0 from 8 reviews

Check availability on Viator

Frequently asked questions

It lasts 12 days, starting from Maun and ending at Chobe National Park.
Prices start from 5,760 USD. The final price depends on season, group size, and what is included, so confirm the details with the operator.
The trip has a 5-star rating from 8 reviews. That is a small sample, so read the reviews themselves as well as the score.
It starts from Maun and finishes at Chobe National Park.
The verified data does not specify age limits or accessibility. Because it is a 12-day mobile camping trip, you should ask the operator about suitability for your group before booking.
The verified data does not list inclusions or exclusions, so you should confirm park fees, meals, drinks, and transfers directly with the operator.

Why you can trust this guide

This guide is built only from the operator’s verified details. Where something is an estimate or varies, we say so — we never invent prices, dates or inclusions.

LT

LikeTraveling Editorial Team

Our editorial team researches every tour using verified operator data and reviews each AI-assisted draft before publication. We have not personally visited every destination and we tell you when information is an estimate.

How we research every experience

1

We gather verified data

Operator details — itinerary, inclusions, duration, cancellation — captured and timestamped.

2

We research & review

Our editorial team turns that data into a grounded guide and reviews it before publishing.

3

You explore & book

Read the guide, then book directly with the operator through a clearly marked link.

Explore the destination

Maun

Why travelers use LikeTraveling

Grounded in real data

Every experience starts from the operator’s own verified details — never invented prices or itineraries.

Screened for you

We automatically filter out experiences that don’t fit our content policy, so you can browse with confidence.

Written to be useful

Question-led guides that answer what travelers actually ask, reviewed by our editorial team before publishing.

Four languages

Read every guide naturally in English, Spanish, French or German — not machine word-for-word.

About LikeTraveling

We import verified operator data, screen it against our content policy, and feature only experiences that pass.
No. Bookings happen with the operator through Viator; we point you to the right page.
No. Any price shown is an operator estimate that varies by option and group size — always confirm on the booking page.
Our editorial team, with AI assistance from verified data, reviews every guide before it goes live.
English, Spanish, French and German, each written naturally for that audience.

Get new guides in your inbox

Occasional, genuinely useful travel guides. No spam.

✓ Occasional, genuinely useful travel guides. No spam.

Where do you want to go?

Browse destinations and find an experience worth booking.

Browse destinations