Maun

Is the 12-Day Wilderness Trail from Maun the Best Way to See the Okavango, Moremi, Chobe and Victoria Falls?

LT LikeTraveling Editorial Team · 5 min read

Quick answer

This 12-day small-group trail from Maun links the Okavango Delta, Moremi Game Reserve, Chobe National Park and Victoria Falls in one overland itinerary. It is a strong fit for travelers who want a multi-park Botswana safari with a Victoria Falls add-on and are comfortable with long road days and camp life. It is not a luxury lodge circuit, and the verified listing does not confirm every inclusion, so travelers should check the operator's current details before booking.

If you are asking whether the 12-Day Wilderness Trail from Maun is the best way to see the Okavango, Moremi, Chobe and Victoria Falls, the short answer is: it can be a very good fit if you want a single overland safari that combines Botswana's flagship wildlife areas with a Victoria Falls finale, and you are happy with a mobile-camping or trail-style rhythm rather than a lodge-to-lodge luxury trip. The verified listing describes a 12-day itinerary from Maun with a 4.76 rating from 17 reviews and a from-price of 4,346 USD. What the listing does not spell out in the data we have is the exact day-by-day route, camp types, park fees and activity inclusions, so this article separates what is confirmed from what you should verify directly with the operator.

What the 12-Day Wilderness Trail actually covers

The tour title and destination data confirm the headline shape of the trip: a 12-day route starting from Maun that combines the Okavango Delta, Moremi Game Reserve, Chobe National Park and Victoria Falls. That is a meaningful combination because those four names represent quite different experiences — a water-and-wetland delta, a predator-rich reserve, a riverfront elephant stronghold and a waterfall on the Zimbabwe side of the border.

What the verified data does not give us is the order of stops, the number of nights in each area, or whether Victoria Falls is visited as a day trip or an overnight. Treat those as questions for the operator rather than assumptions. The practical takeaway is that this is a multi-destination overland safari, not a single-camp stay, and the 12-day length is the main thing that makes covering this much ground realistic.

Who this trail suits — and who it doesn't

Good fit

  • Travelers who want variety: if you would rather see four distinct areas than settle into one lodge, the Okavango–Moremi–Chobe–Victoria Falls combination delivers that.
  • Small-group travelers: the listing is framed as a trail experience, which typically means a shared vehicle and a group rhythm rather than a private guide throughout.
  • Travelers with realistic budgets: a from-price of 4,346 USD for 12 days is a mid-range safari budget, not a budget-backpacker figure and not a top-luxury figure.
  • People who want Victoria Falls in the same trip: adding the falls to a Botswana safari usually means extra logistics; this itinerary bundles it.

Less good fit

  • Luxury-lodge seekers: nothing in the verified data describes five-star lodges, and trail-style safaris typically involve simpler camp accommodation.
  • Travelers who dislike long drives: connecting Maun, the delta, Moremi, Chobe and Victoria Falls involves substantial road time.
  • Families with very young children or travelers with limited mobility: the listing does not confirm suitability, so ask before booking.

How the 12 days are likely to feel, day by day

We cannot state the exact day-by-day itinerary because the verified data does not include it. What we can say is how a 12-day overland trail of this shape usually breaks down, so you can ask better questions:

  • Start in Maun: the tour is based from Maun, the usual gateway for Okavango Delta access.
  • Okavango Delta segment: expect wetland-focused activities such as mokoro or boat excursions, though the listing does not confirm which are included.
  • Moremi Game Reserve segment: game drives in a reserve known for predator sightings, subject to season and conditions.
  • Chobe National Park segment: riverfront wildlife viewing, often including boat-based viewing, again subject to confirmation.
  • Victoria Falls segment: a visit to the falls area, with border-crossing logistics that the operator should explain.

Ask the operator for a day-by-day PDF before you pay a deposit. The difference between a well-paced 12 days and a rushed one usually comes down to how many nights are spent in each area.

What the price does and does not tell you

The verified from-price is 4,346 USD per person for the 12-day tour. That is a useful anchor, but a from-price is rarely the final cost. Before comparing this trail with other Botswana safaris, confirm:

Cost questionWhy it matters
Are park and reserve fees included?Botswana park fees can be a significant add-on and are often quoted separately.
Are delta activities included?Mokoro, boat and scenic flight activities are sometimes optional extras.
Is Victoria Falls entry included?The falls entrance fee is separate from transport in many itineraries.
What is the single supplement?If you are traveling solo, the from-price may assume sharing.
Are international and regional flights included?Flights to Maun and out of the Victoria Falls area are usually separate.

None of these are confirmed either way in the data we have, so treat the from-price as a starting point rather than a total.

Accommodation and comfort level: what to expect

The word "trail" in the title suggests a mobile or semi-mobile safari format rather than a fixed lodge circuit, but the verified listing does not specify tent types, camp facilities or hotel categories. In practice, 12-day trails in this region vary widely — some use spacious dome tents with shared ablutions, others use en-suite safari tents, and a few mix camping with a lodge night or two.

Ask specifically about: tent size and bedding, whether ablutions are en-suite or shared, whether there is electricity or charging, and whether any nights are in a lodge or hotel. If comfort is a priority for you, this is the single most important pre-booking question.

12Day WILDERNESS TRAIL: Okavango, Moremi & Chobe + Victoria Falls

★ 4.8 from 17 reviews

Check availability on Viator

Wildlife and seasonal realities

Moremi and Chobe are well known for elephant, buffalo, lion, leopard and wild dog, and the Okavango Delta adds water-based wildlife viewing. However, sightings are never guaranteed, and the experience changes markedly between the dry and wet seasons. The verified data does not specify which season the tour operates in or how many game drives are included per day.

Before booking, ask the operator: how many game drives are included in each area, whether water levels affect delta activities in your travel month, and what the backup plan is if a road or camp is inaccessible. These questions matter more than any marketing description of wildlife.

Victoria Falls: the add-on that changes the trip

Including Victoria Falls turns a Botswana safari into a two-country trip. That is appealing, but it brings practical considerations: border formalities, possible visa or entry requirements depending on your nationality, and the question of whether the falls are visited from the Zimbabwe side or the Zambia side. The verified listing does not specify which side, how long you spend there, or whether the falls entrance fee is included.

Check your own visa and entry requirements with official sources — do not rely on a tour listing for immigration advice. Also ask the operator how luggage is handled on the crossing and whether the falls visit is guided.

How it compares with other Maun-based safaris

Maun is the launch point for many Botswana itineraries, from short delta trips to longer mobile-camping expeditions. This 12-day trail sits in the middle-to-long range and is distinguished by combining four headline areas rather than focusing on one or two.

  • Choose a shorter delta-focused trip if your priority is depth in the Okavango and you have limited time.
  • Choose this 12-day trail if you want breadth across the delta, Moremi, Chobe and Victoria Falls in one booking.
  • Choose a lodge-based itinerary if comfort and shorter transfer days matter more to you than covering ground.

The 4.76 rating from 17 reviews suggests generally positive traveler feedback, but 17 reviews is a modest sample, so read recent reviews for specifics on pacing, guides and camp quality.

The 12-Day Wilderness Trail from Maun is a credible option if you want one overland safari that covers the Okavango Delta, Moremi, Chobe and Victoria Falls, and you are comfortable with a trail-style rhythm and long transfer days. Its 4.76 rating from 17 reviews and from-price of 4,346 USD give you a starting point, but the verified data leaves important practical questions open — accommodation type, park fees, activity inclusions and the exact Victoria Falls arrangements. Ask those questions directly before you book, and this itinerary can be a sensible way to see a lot of northern Botswana and the falls in a single trip.

12Day WILDERNESS TRAIL: Okavango, Moremi & Chobe + Victoria Falls

★ 4.8 from 17 reviews

Check availability on Viator

Frequently asked questions

The verified listing states a duration of 12 days, starting from Maun and covering the Okavango Delta, Moremi Game Reserve, Chobe National Park and Victoria Falls.
The listed from-price is 4,346 USD. This is a starting price, and park fees, activities, flights and the single supplement may be extra. Confirm the full cost with the operator.
The verified data shows a rating of 4.76 from 17 reviews. That is a small sample, so read recent reviews for detail on guides, pacing and accommodation.
The verified listing does not specify accommodation type. The word 'trail' suggests a mobile or semi-mobile format, but you should ask the operator directly about tents, ablutions and any lodge nights.
The verified data does not confirm whether park fees, delta activities or Victoria Falls entrance are included. Ask the operator for a full inclusions and exclusions list before booking.
Visa and entry requirements depend on your nationality and the border crossing used. The tour listing does not provide immigration advice, so check official government sources for Zimbabwe and Zambia before you travel.
The verified data does not confirm suitability for families or travelers with limited mobility. Given the 12-day overland format, ask the operator about vehicle access, walking requirements and minimum ages.

Why you can trust this guide

This guide is built only from the operator’s verified details. Where something is an estimate or varies, we say so — we never invent prices, dates or inclusions.

LT

LikeTraveling Editorial Team

Our editorial team researches every tour using verified operator data and reviews each AI-assisted draft before publication. We have not personally visited every destination and we tell you when information is an estimate.

How we research every experience

1

We gather verified data

Operator details — itinerary, inclusions, duration, cancellation — captured and timestamped.

2

We research & review

Our editorial team turns that data into a grounded guide and reviews it before publishing.

3

You explore & book

Read the guide, then book directly with the operator through a clearly marked link.

Explore the destination

Maun

Why travelers use LikeTraveling

Grounded in real data

Every experience starts from the operator’s own verified details — never invented prices or itineraries.

Screened for you

We automatically filter out experiences that don’t fit our content policy, so you can browse with confidence.

Written to be useful

Question-led guides that answer what travelers actually ask, reviewed by our editorial team before publishing.

Four languages

Read every guide naturally in English, Spanish, French or German — not machine word-for-word.

About LikeTraveling

We import verified operator data, screen it against our content policy, and feature only experiences that pass.
No. Bookings happen with the operator through Viator; we point you to the right page.
No. Any price shown is an operator estimate that varies by option and group size — always confirm on the booking page.
Our editorial team, with AI assistance from verified data, reviews every guide before it goes live.
English, Spanish, French and German, each written naturally for that audience.

Get new guides in your inbox

Occasional, genuinely useful travel guides. No spam.

✓ Occasional, genuinely useful travel guides. No spam.

Where do you want to go?

Browse destinations and find an experience worth booking.

Browse destinations