Maun

Is a 13-Day Wilderness Trail from Maun the Best Way to See Northern Botswana and Victoria Falls?

LT LikeTraveling Editorial Team · 5 min read

Quick answer

The 13-Day Wilderness Trail is a small-group, wild-camping safari that starts in Maun and combines northern Botswana's wildlife areas with Victoria Falls. It is a good fit for travelers who want an immersive, camping-based trip rather than lodge comfort, and who are prepared for long days, basic facilities, and a fixed group itinerary. The tour has a 4.75 rating from 16 reviews and starts from 5,321 USD per person. It is not a luxury lodge tour, and the exact camps, park fees, and daily route are not specified in the verified data, so confirm those details before booking.

If you are weighing up a 13-day wilderness camping safari from Maun that ends at Victoria Falls, the short answer is: yes, this can be an excellent way to see northern Botswana and the falls in one trip, provided you want a camping-based, group-style adventure rather than a lodge holiday. The tour is rated 4.75 from 16 reviews and starts from 5,321 USD, and it is built around wild camping rather than hotels. That combination tells you most of what you need to know about the experience: it is immersive and outdoors-focused, but it is not a soft, high-comfort itinerary.

This article unpacks what the verified tour data does and does not tell you, who the trip suits, and the practical limitations to plan around. Where details are not confirmed, we say so rather than guess.

What is the 13-Day Wilderness Trail, in plain terms?

Based on the verified listing, this is a 13-day, small-group safari that begins in Maun, explores northern Botswana, and includes Victoria Falls. The emphasis is on wild camping, which usually means tented accommodation in or near wildlife areas rather than lodges or permanent camps.

It is important to separate what is confirmed from what is not:

  • Confirmed: 13 days, Maun as the starting point, wild camping format, Victoria Falls included in the trip concept, 4.75 rating from 16 reviews, from 5,321 USD.
  • Not confirmed in the data: the exact camps, daily driving distances, park fees, group size, vehicle type, and whether Victoria Falls activities are included or optional.

That distinction matters. The title and duration tell you the shape of the trip, but not the day-by-day detail. Treat any specific camp names or activity lists you see elsewhere as things to verify with the operator.

Who is this wild-camping safari actually for?

This trip tends to suit travelers who value wildlife and wilderness over hotel comfort. In practice, that means:

  • Campers and outdoor travelers who are comfortable in a tent for close to two weeks.
  • Wildlife-focused visitors who want to be in the bush rather than moving between lodges.
  • Travelers who like group travel, since small-group camping safaris involve shared vehicles, shared meal routines, and fixed departure schedules.
  • People combining Botswana and Zimbabwe in one trip, since Victoria Falls is part of the itinerary concept.

It is less suited to travelers who need en-suite bathrooms, air conditioning, or flexible daily schedules, and to anyone who dislikes long days in a vehicle. The verified data does not specify accessibility features, so travelers with mobility needs should ask the operator directly.

What does the price from 5,321 USD likely cover, and what might it not?

The listing shows a starting price of 5,321 USD, but the verified data does not break down inclusions. On comparable small-group camping safaris, the price usually covers transport, camping equipment, guiding, and most meals, while international flights, visas, travel insurance, tips, and some optional activities are extra. That is a general pattern, not a confirmed inclusion list for this tour.

What to confirm before you pay

  • Whether park and reserve entrance fees are included.
  • Whether meals are fully included or partly self-catered.
  • Whether Victoria Falls entry and activities are included or optional.
  • Whether camping equipment and bedding are provided.
  • Whether airport transfers in Maun and at Victoria Falls are included.
  • What the single supplement is, if you are traveling alone.

Because the verified data does not list inclusions or exclusions, treat the 5,321 USD figure as a starting point rather than a final trip cost.

How does the Victoria Falls extension change the trip?

Victoria Falls is named in the tour title, which suggests the itinerary crosses from Botswana into Zimbabwe or at least reaches the falls area. What is not confirmed is how many nights are spent there or which activities are built in.

Practically, travelers should plan for two things:

  • Border formalities. Moving between Botswana and Zimbabwe involves a border crossing, and visa and entry requirements depend on your nationality. Check current rules with official sources before booking.
  • Optional add-ons. Falls-area activities such as guided walks or helicopter flights are often priced separately on safari itineraries. Confirm what is included rather than assuming.

The falls are a strong finale to a camping trip, but the verified data does not tell you how much time you get there, so ask the operator for a day-by-day outline.

What are the real practical limitations of a 13-day camping safari?

Thirteen days of wild camping is a meaningful commitment, and it is worth being honest about the trade-offs:

  • Comfort is basic. Wild camping generally means tents, shared washroom arrangements, and simple meals.
  • Long travel days. Northern Botswana is vast, and moving between wildlife areas takes time in a vehicle.
  • Fixed group rhythm. You eat, move, and camp on the group's schedule, not your own.
  • Weather exposure. Camping trips are more affected by heat, rain, and dust than lodge stays. The verified data does not specify seasonality, so ask about the best months for your travel dates.
  • Limited personal space. Two weeks in a small group is sociable but intense.

None of this is a reason to avoid the trip, but it is a reason to book it only if camping is genuinely your preferred style of travel.

13 Day WILDERNESS TRAIL: Best Of Northern Botswana -WildCamping + Victoria Falls

★ 4.8 from 16 reviews

Check availability on Viator

How reliable are the 4.75 rating and 16 reviews?

A 4.75 rating from 16 reviews is a positive signal, but it is a small sample. It suggests past travelers were broadly satisfied, without telling you why. Reviews of camping safaris often hinge on guide quality, camp locations, food, and vehicle comfort, and those details are not visible in the verified data.

When reading reviews, look for mentions of:

  • Guide knowledge and wildlife spotting.
  • Camp hygiene and facilities.
  • Meal quality and dietary handling.
  • Pace and driving time.
  • How the Victoria Falls section was handled.

Use the rating as a starting point and read the review text for patterns rather than relying on the score alone.

How does it compare with other Maun-based safaris?

Maun is a common launch point for northern Botswana safaris, and there are several multi-day options with different lengths and styles. This 13-day wilderness trail sits toward the longer, more camping-focused end of that range.

ConsiderationThis 13-day wilderness trailShorter or lodge-based alternatives
StyleWild campingOften lodges or mixed accommodation
Length13 daysTypically shorter
Victoria FallsIncluded in the trip conceptSometimes not included
Comfort levelBasicGenerally higher
Price from5,321 USDVaries; not compared here

If you want maximum time in the bush and do not mind camping, the longer format is a strength. If comfort or a shorter time commitment matters more, a lodge-based trip may fit better. The verified data does not allow a like-for-like price comparison with other products.

What should you confirm before booking?

Because the verified data is high-level, a short list of questions to the operator will save surprises:

  1. What is the full day-by-day itinerary, including camps and driving distances?
  2. What exactly is included in the 5,321 USD starting price?
  3. How many people are in the group, and what is the vehicle setup?
  4. What are the washroom and shower arrangements at each camp?
  5. How many nights are spent at or near Victoria Falls, and what is included there?
  6. What are the visa and entry requirements for Botswana and Zimbabwe for your nationality?
  7. What is the cancellation policy and travel insurance requirement?

Getting clear answers to these turns a vague listing into a trip you can plan around.

The 13-Day Wilderness Trail is a strong option for travelers who want an extended, camping-based safari through northern Botswana with Victoria Falls as part of the journey. The 4.75 rating from 16 reviews and the 5,321 USD starting price give you a useful baseline, but the verified data is deliberately high-level. Before booking, confirm the day-by-day route, what the price includes, how the Victoria Falls section works, and the visa rules for your passport. If wild camping and group travel appeal to you, this trip is worth serious consideration; if comfort and flexibility matter more, a lodge-based itinerary may be the better fit.

13 Day WILDERNESS TRAIL: Best Of Northern Botswana -WildCamping + Victoria Falls

★ 4.8 from 16 reviews

Check availability on Viator

Frequently asked questions

The verified listing states 13 days. The day-by-day breakdown, including travel days and time at Victoria Falls, is not specified in the data, so ask the operator for the full itinerary.
The tour is based in Maun, Botswana, and the title indicates Victoria Falls is part of the trip. The exact start and end points are not confirmed in the verified data.
Prices start from 5,321 USD. The verified data does not list inclusions or exclusions, so confirm what the price covers, including park fees, meals, and Victoria Falls activities.
The tour has a 4.75 rating from 16 reviews. That is a small sample, so read the review text for patterns on guiding, camps, and food rather than relying on the score alone.
No. The title describes wild camping, which generally means tents and basic facilities rather than lodges. Travelers wanting en-suite rooms and hotel comfort should look at lodge-based alternatives.
Visa and entry rules depend on your nationality and can change. The verified data does not include visa information, so check official government sources before booking.
Small-group camping safaris often accept solo travelers, but the verified data does not confirm solo pricing or single supplements. Ask the operator directly.

Why you can trust this guide

This guide is built only from the operator’s verified details. Where something is an estimate or varies, we say so — we never invent prices, dates or inclusions.

LT

LikeTraveling Editorial Team

Our editorial team researches every tour using verified operator data and reviews each AI-assisted draft before publication. We have not personally visited every destination and we tell you when information is an estimate.

How we research every experience

1

We gather verified data

Operator details — itinerary, inclusions, duration, cancellation — captured and timestamped.

2

We research & review

Our editorial team turns that data into a grounded guide and reviews it before publishing.

3

You explore & book

Read the guide, then book directly with the operator through a clearly marked link.

Explore the destination

Maun

Why travelers use LikeTraveling

Grounded in real data

Every experience starts from the operator’s own verified details — never invented prices or itineraries.

Screened for you

We automatically filter out experiences that don’t fit our content policy, so you can browse with confidence.

Written to be useful

Question-led guides that answer what travelers actually ask, reviewed by our editorial team before publishing.

Four languages

Read every guide naturally in English, Spanish, French or German — not machine word-for-word.

About LikeTraveling

We import verified operator data, screen it against our content policy, and feature only experiences that pass.
No. Bookings happen with the operator through Viator; we point you to the right page.
No. Any price shown is an operator estimate that varies by option and group size — always confirm on the booking page.
Our editorial team, with AI assistance from verified data, reviews every guide before it goes live.
English, Spanish, French and German, each written naturally for that audience.

Get new guides in your inbox

Occasional, genuinely useful travel guides. No spam.

✓ Occasional, genuinely useful travel guides. No spam.

Where do you want to go?

Browse destinations and find an experience worth booking.

Browse destinations