Maun

Is a 14-Day Mobile Camping Safari from Maun the Right Way to See Botswana?

LT LikeTraveling Editorial Team · 5 min read

Quick answer

This 14-day mobile camping safari starts in Maun and travels through the Central Kalahari, Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe. It is a fully participatory camping-style trip with a guide and camp crew, priced from about 8,120 USD per person. It suits adventurous travellers who want a long, deep Botswana wildlife circuit and are comfortable with basic camp conditions, long drives and a set departure schedule. It is not a lodge-based luxury holiday, and availability, group size and exact inclusions should be confirmed before booking.

If you are asking whether a 14-day mobile camping safari from Maun is the right way to see Botswana, the short answer is: it can be, if you want a long, overland-style wildlife trip through the Central Kalahari, Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe rather than a lodge-to-lodge holiday. The tour is listed as a 14-day experience departing from Maun, priced from 8,120 USD, and it has a small but perfect 5-star rating from 2 reviews at the time of writing. That review base is tiny, so treat the rating as encouraging rather than definitive.

This article explains what the itinerary covers at a headline level, what mobile camping generally involves, who the trip suits, and the practical questions worth asking before you commit. It is based on the verified tour facts supplied, not on a personal inspection of the camps or route.

What does this 14-day Botswana safari actually cover?

The verified listing names three headline areas: the Central Kalahari, Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe, with the trip starting from Maun. That combination is a classic Botswana circuit: Kalahari desert-adapted wildlife, the waterways and floodplains of Moremi in the Okavango Delta region, and the elephant-rich Chobe area.

What the listing does not give is a day-by-day breakdown. We do not have verified information on which camps are used on which nights, how many nights are spent in each reserve, or whether the route runs Maun–Kalahari–Moremi–Chobe or another order. Those details matter for pacing, so ask the operator for a full day-by-day itinerary before booking.

Headline facts at a glance

DetailVerified information
Duration14 days
Start pointMaun
Named areasCentral Kalahari, Moremi Game Reserve, Chobe
StyleMobile camping safari
PriceFrom 8,120 USD
Rating5 out of 5 from 2 reviews

Because the price is expressed as "from", expect that season, group size and room configuration can change the final quote.

What is a mobile camping safari, and how is it different from a lodge trip?

"Mobile camping" usually means the camp moves with you: a crew sets up tents at each stop, you sleep in dome or walk-in tents rather than permanent lodge rooms, and meals are cooked at camp. It is closer to a guided overland expedition than a hotel-based holiday.

That has real trade-offs:

  • Pros: you cover more ground, stay closer to the wildlife areas, and typically pay less than an equivalent lodge circuit.
  • Cons: shared bathroom or bucket-shower arrangements are common, there is less privacy, and days can be long and dusty.

The verified listing does not specify tent type, whether bathrooms are en-suite, or whether participants help with camp chores. Those are standard questions to put to the operator. Do not assume hotel-level comfort just because the price is substantial — 14 days of guided camping in remote Botswana is a different product from 14 nights in lodges.

Who is this 14-day safari best suited to?

Based on the length, style and route, this trip tends to suit:

  • Wildlife-focused travellers who care more about time in the bush than about room service.
  • Reasonably fit adults who can handle early starts, long game drives and moving camp every few days.
  • Small groups, couples or friends who enjoy shared camp life.
  • Repeat Africa travellers wanting a deeper Botswana circuit than a short Delta add-on.

It is likely to be a harder sell for travellers who need en-suite facilities, air conditioning, or a relaxed pace with lots of downtime, and for very young children. The listing does not state a minimum age or fitness requirement, so confirm both with the operator.

How much does it cost, and what might the price exclude?

The listed starting price is 8,120 USD for the 14-day trip. That is a significant outlay, so it is worth understanding what sits inside and outside that figure.

The verified data does not list inclusions or exclusions. In practice, on trips of this type, travellers should always confirm in writing whether the following are included:

  • Park and reserve entrance fees
  • Camping fees and government levies
  • All meals and drinking water
  • Guide and camp crew
  • Game drives and any boat or mokoro activities
  • Internal flights or transfers, if any
  • International flights, visas and travel insurance
  • Tips and personal drinks

None of these can be assumed from the listing alone. Ask for a written inclusion/exclusion list and check whether the "from" price is per person sharing.

What should you check about the route and the camps?

The names Central Kalahari, Moremi and Chobe are well known, but the quality of a mobile safari depends heavily on where in each area you camp and how long you stay. Before booking, ask:

  1. How many nights are spent in each of the three named areas?
  2. Are camps inside or outside the reserve boundaries?
  3. How many hours of driving are there on transfer days?
  4. What is the maximum group size, and how many vehicles are used?
  5. What game-drive vehicle type is used, and are seats window-side?

These questions are not nitpicking. On a 14-day trip, one long transfer day or a badly placed camp can shape the whole experience. Since the listing gives no day-by-day detail, the operator's itinerary document is the key source.

14 Days Mobile Camping Safari:Maun, Central Kalahari -Moremi Game Reserve- Chobe

★ 5.0 from 2 reviews

Check availability on Viator

When should you go, and what is the weather likely to do?

Botswana's safari seasons broadly divide into a dry winter (roughly May to October) and a greener, hotter summer with rains (roughly November to April). Wildlife viewing is often easier in the dry season when animals concentrate around water, while the green season brings newborn animals, birds and dramatic skies.

However, the verified listing does not state operating months, departure dates or season-specific pricing. We cannot confirm which months this tour runs or how the route changes with the season. Ask the operator directly about departure dates, expected temperatures and whether any activities depend on water levels — particularly in the Okavango and Chobe areas.

What are the practical limitations to plan around?

Being realistic about the downsides is part of choosing well. For a 14-day mobile camping safari, expect:

  • Limited connectivity: remote camps often have no reliable Wi-Fi or mobile signal.
  • Basic facilities: bucket showers and shared or simple toilets are common in mobile camps.
  • Physical demands: early starts, heat, dust and long drives.
  • Fixed group dynamics: you will spend two weeks with the same guide and fellow travellers.
  • Packing discipline: soft bags and limited luggage are typical on light aircraft transfers, if any are involved.

None of these are confirmed specifics for this tour, but they are standard considerations for the format. Confirm luggage limits, electricity for charging cameras, and any medical or dietary requirements with the operator well before departure.

How reliable is the 5-star rating?

The tour shows a 5 out of 5 rating from 2 reviews. That is a positive signal but a very small sample, so it should not be treated as a robust measure of quality. A two-review average can swing significantly with one additional review.

Use the rating as a starting point, then read the actual review text if available, ask the operator for references, and check whether the reviews describe the same route and camp style you are booking. For a trip at this price level, that extra diligence is worthwhile.

A 14-day mobile camping safari from Maun is a serious, wildlife-led way to see three of Botswana's best-known areas — the Central Kalahari, Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe — in one continuous trip. At from 8,120 USD, it is a considered purchase rather than an impulse booking, and the 5-star rating from just 2 reviews is encouraging but thin.

If you are comfortable with camp life, long drives and a fixed group, and you confirm the day-by-day route, inclusions and camp standards in writing, this format can deliver the kind of extended bush time that lodge hopping rarely allows. If you need hotel-level comfort, look at lodge-based alternatives instead.

14 Days Mobile Camping Safari:Maun, Central Kalahari -Moremi Game Reserve- Chobe

★ 5.0 from 2 reviews

Check availability on Viator

Frequently asked questions

It is a 14-day trip starting from Maun, Botswana, covering the Central Kalahari, Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe according to the verified listing.
The listed starting price is from 8,120 USD. Final pricing can vary by season, group size and configuration, so request a written quote.
It is described as a mobile camping safari, which generally means moving tented camps rather than permanent lodges. Confirm tent type and bathroom arrangements with the operator, as the listing does not specify them.
The verified listing does not provide an inclusions list. Ask the operator in writing about park fees, meals, water, guide and crew, activities, transfers and tips before booking.
It has a 5 out of 5 rating from 2 reviews. That is a very small sample, so read the review text and ask for references rather than relying on the score alone.
Travellers who need en-suite bathrooms, air conditioning, a relaxed pace or high connectivity may find mobile camping uncomfortable. The listing does not state a minimum age, so confirm suitability for children with the operator.

Why you can trust this guide

This guide is built only from the operator’s verified details. Where something is an estimate or varies, we say so — we never invent prices, dates or inclusions.

LT

LikeTraveling Editorial Team

Our editorial team researches every tour using verified operator data and reviews each AI-assisted draft before publication. We have not personally visited every destination and we tell you when information is an estimate.

How we research every experience

1

We gather verified data

Operator details — itinerary, inclusions, duration, cancellation — captured and timestamped.

2

We research & review

Our editorial team turns that data into a grounded guide and reviews it before publishing.

3

You explore & book

Read the guide, then book directly with the operator through a clearly marked link.

Explore the destination

Maun

Why travelers use LikeTraveling

Grounded in real data

Every experience starts from the operator’s own verified details — never invented prices or itineraries.

Screened for you

We automatically filter out experiences that don’t fit our content policy, so you can browse with confidence.

Written to be useful

Question-led guides that answer what travelers actually ask, reviewed by our editorial team before publishing.

Four languages

Read every guide naturally in English, Spanish, French or German — not machine word-for-word.

About LikeTraveling

We import verified operator data, screen it against our content policy, and feature only experiences that pass.
No. Bookings happen with the operator through Viator; we point you to the right page.
No. Any price shown is an operator estimate that varies by option and group size — always confirm on the booking page.
Our editorial team, with AI assistance from verified data, reviews every guide before it goes live.
English, Spanish, French and German, each written naturally for that audience.

Get new guides in your inbox

Occasional, genuinely useful travel guides. No spam.

✓ Occasional, genuinely useful travel guides. No spam.

Where do you want to go?

Browse destinations and find an experience worth booking.

Browse destinations