New South Wales

Is a 3-Month Surf Instructor Course in New South Wales Worth It?

LT LikeTraveling Editorial Team · 4 min read

Quick answer

A 3-month surf instructor course in New South Wales is a long-format training program aimed at people who want to build surf coaching skills over a full season. The Viator listing (product 16855P3) shows a 90-day duration, a from-price of 8,299 USD, and a 5-star rating from a single review. It is a serious commitment of time and money, best suited to travelers who want an extended stay and a structured path toward surf instruction rather than a short holiday lesson.

If you are searching for a surf instructor course in New South Wales, you have probably noticed that most options are short courses or single lessons. This one is different: it runs for 90 days, which is roughly three months. The Viator listing for the Surf Academy 3 Month Surf Instructor Course (product code 16855P3) shows a from-price of 8,299 USD and a 5-star rating based on one review. That is a long time and a significant budget, so the real question is whether this format matches what you want from a surf-focused trip.

Below we explain what the verified listing tells us, what it does not tell us, and how to decide whether a three-month course is the right fit for your goals, schedule, and budget.

What does the 3-month surf instructor course actually involve?

The verified listing gives us the essentials: a 90-day duration, a location in New South Wales, and a focus on surf instructor training. Beyond that, the listing data we have does not specify the daily schedule, the certification body, the exact beach location, or the ratio of theory to water time. Those details matter, so treat the duration as the headline fact and confirm the syllabus directly with the operator before booking.

What a three-month format generally implies is that the course is designed to build skills progressively rather than deliver a quick taster. That could mean weeks of surf technique, fitness, ocean safety, and coaching practice. But because the listing does not itemise the curriculum, we are not going to guess at specific modules or qualifications.

How much does it cost, and what does the price include?

The listing shows a from-price of 8,299 USD. That is a starting figure, not necessarily the final amount you will pay, and it does not tell us what is bundled in. Accommodation, meals, equipment, transport, and certification fees are all common variables in long-format courses, and the verified data does not confirm which of these are included here.

Before you commit, ask the operator directly:

  • Does the price cover accommodation for all 90 days?
  • Are surfboards, wetsuits, and other equipment provided or rented separately?
  • Are certification or examination fees included?
  • What is the payment and cancellation policy?

None of these answers are in the listing data, so they should be treated as open questions rather than assumptions.

Where in New South Wales is it based?

The listing names New South Wales as the destination, which is a state rather than a single town. New South Wales has a long coastline with very different surf conditions from beach to beach, so the exact location matters for everything from wave type to living costs. The verified data does not specify a town, beach, or campus.

If location is important to you, for example because you want to be near a particular surf break or you have transport constraints, ask the operator to confirm the base before booking. A three-month stay in a coastal town is a very different experience from a three-month stay in a more remote area, and the listing alone does not tell you which you are getting.

Who is this course best suited to?

Based on the 90-day duration and the instructor-training focus, this course is likely aimed at people who want more than a holiday surf lesson. It suits travelers who can set aside three months, who want to live near the coast for a season, and who are interested in coaching or leading surf sessions rather than only improving their own surfing.

It is probably less suitable if you only have a week or two, if you are looking for a casual introduction to surfing, or if your budget is tight. The from-price of 8,299 USD is a substantial outlay before you add flights, visas, food, and daily living costs.

Surf Academy - 3 Month Surf Instructor Course

★ 5.0 from 1 reviews

Check availability on Viator

What are the practical limitations to consider?

Long courses come with trade-offs, and it is worth being honest about them:

  • Time commitment: 90 days is a full season. Check that your work, study, or family commitments allow it.
  • Cost: The from-price is only part of the picture. Living costs for three months in New South Wales can add significantly to the total.
  • Limited review data: The listing shows a 5-star rating from just one review. That is a positive signal but a very small sample, so it should not be treated as a broad consensus.
  • Unconfirmed inclusions: As noted, the listing does not detail what is included, so you will need to verify accommodation, equipment, and certification separately.
  • Visa and travel requirements: We cannot advise on visa rules here. Check official Australian government sources for your nationality before booking.

How does it compare with shorter surf courses?

Shorter surf courses and lessons are widely available in many coastal destinations, including in New South Wales, and they typically last from a few hours to a few weeks. They are a lower-commitment way to try surfing or improve a specific skill. A three-month instructor course sits at the opposite end of that spectrum: it is longer, more expensive, and oriented toward coaching rather than casual participation.

The right choice depends on your goal. If you want to see whether you enjoy surfing, a short course makes more sense. If you already know you want to spend a season in the water and build toward instructing, a long course like this one is the more logical format, provided the syllabus and inclusions meet your needs.

What should you confirm before booking?

Because the verified listing is light on detail, a short list of questions to the operator will save you from surprises:

  1. What is the exact location and what are the accommodation arrangements?
  2. What does the 8,299 USD from-price cover, and what are the extra costs?
  3. What certification or qualification, if any, does the course lead to?
  4. What is the typical group size and instructor ratio?
  5. What happens if surf conditions are poor for an extended period?
  6. What is the cancellation and refund policy?

Getting these answers in writing before you pay is the most practical step you can take.

A three-month surf instructor course in New South Wales is a substantial commitment, and the verified listing gives you the key facts: 90 days, a from-price of 8,299 USD, and a 5-star rating from a single review. What it does not give you is the fine print on location, inclusions, certification, and daily structure. If you are seriously considering it, the sensible next step is to contact the operator with the questions above and compare the answers against your budget and schedule. For travelers who want a full season in the water and a structured path toward coaching, the format makes sense; for anyone seeking a short introduction to surfing, a shorter course will likely serve you better.

Surf Academy - 3 Month Surf Instructor Course

★ 5.0 from 1 reviews

Check availability on Viator

Frequently asked questions

The verified listing shows a duration of 90 days, which is approximately three months.
The listing shows a from-price of 8,299 USD. This is a starting price and may not include accommodation, equipment, or certification fees, so confirm the full cost with the operator.
The listing names New South Wales as the destination but does not specify a town or beach. Ask the operator to confirm the exact location before booking.
The listing shows a 5-star rating based on one review. That is a positive signal but a very small sample, so treat it as limited evidence rather than a broad consensus.
The listing does not state a minimum ability level. Given the 90-day instructor-training format, it is likely aimed at people with some commitment to surfing, but you should ask the operator directly about entry requirements.
The verified data does not confirm what is included. Accommodation, surfboards, wetsuits, and certification fees should all be confirmed with the operator before you book.

Why you can trust this guide

This guide is built only from the operator’s verified details. Where something is an estimate or varies, we say so — we never invent prices, dates or inclusions.

LT

LikeTraveling Editorial Team

Our editorial team researches every tour using verified operator data and reviews each AI-assisted draft before publication. We have not personally visited every destination and we tell you when information is an estimate.

How we research every experience

1

We gather verified data

Operator details — itinerary, inclusions, duration, cancellation — captured and timestamped.

2

We research & review

Our editorial team turns that data into a grounded guide and reviews it before publishing.

3

You explore & book

Read the guide, then book directly with the operator through a clearly marked link.

Explore the destination

New South Wales

New South Wales

Why travelers use LikeTraveling

Grounded in real data

Every experience starts from the operator’s own verified details — never invented prices or itineraries.

Screened for you

We automatically filter out experiences that don’t fit our content policy, so you can browse with confidence.

Written to be useful

Question-led guides that answer what travelers actually ask, reviewed by our editorial team before publishing.

Four languages

Read every guide naturally in English, Spanish, French or German — not machine word-for-word.

About LikeTraveling

We import verified operator data, screen it against our content policy, and feature only experiences that pass.
No. Bookings happen with the operator through Viator; we point you to the right page.
No. Any price shown is an operator estimate that varies by option and group size — always confirm on the booking page.
Our editorial team, with AI assistance from verified data, reviews every guide before it goes live.
English, Spanish, French and German, each written naturally for that audience.

Get new guides in your inbox

Occasional, genuinely useful travel guides. No spam.

✓ Occasional, genuinely useful travel guides. No spam.

Where do you want to go?

Browse destinations and find an experience worth booking.

Browse destinations